Sunday, March 7, 2010

Rebates for ENERGY STAR Appliances

The U.S. government’s stimulus package signed into law earlier this year includes $300 million to fund the Energy Efficient Appliance Rebate Program, which offers rebates to consumers who buy Energy Star-rated appliances.

Under this program, eligible consumers can receive rebates to purchase new energy-efficient appliances when they replace used appliances.

Each state and U.S. territory was allowed to design its own rebate program, and all 56 plans have now been approved by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). Learn about those programs and when they are projected to start at this website. Click on your state to learn about the program that applies to you:

(Note: This Web site is the only official DOE-sponsored Web site; be cautious of "fake" Web sites.)

Types of Appliances

More than 70% of the energy used in our homes is for appliances, refrigeration, space heating, cooling, and water heating. Replacing old appliances and equipment with those that are ENERGY STAR® labeled can help American families save significantly on their utility bills. Each state and territory may select its own set of ENERGY STAR qualified products to rebate. DOE has recommended that states select from among the following appliances:

* Boilers
* Central air conditioners
* Clothes washers
* Dishwashers
* Freezers
* Furnaces (oil and gas)
* Heat pumps (air source and geothermal)
* Refrigerators
* Room air conditioners
* Water heaters

Note that these are actual rebates, not tax credits.